Campus Life

Quick Links

Usman Buzdar School of State Sciences


The Department of Political Science is one of the pioneer departments of The Islamia University of Bahawalpur, which has been providing quality education to its students, addressing the demand for skilled professionals, and contributing to the welfare of the society at large. Since its inception in 1975, the department has played a significant role in the development of a social-scientific understanding of the underpinnings of the government, administration, and politics.

With an educational legacy spanning across more than four decades, the Department has envisaged upgrading itself from a single department offering degree programs in four different disciplines to a full-fledged School of State Sciences – the first of its kind in Pakistan.

As mentioned above the Department is currently imparting education in multi-disciplinary programs including Political Science, Public Administration, Public Policy & Governance, Politics & Parliamentary Studies, and Gender Studies. After conversion into UBSSS, these programs will become separate departments. Moreover, the Department also houses two research and consultancy arms namely WDC and CPCR, which will also work under the umbrella of UBSSS.

Prof. Dr. Yasmin Roofi
Director UBSSS



© 2023 The Islamia University of Bahawalpur iub.edu.pk.