Since its establishment in 1975 the Department of Chemistry has been providing quality education to its students; a fact that is reflected in absorption of a large number of its graduates by many public and private sector institutions within the country and abroad. It has highly qualified faculty that includes 16 PhD degree holders with teaching and research experience of more than 30 years. 

The Department has been providing its students services of highly qualified, foreign trained, renowned teachers with proven excellence in their specializations. This tradition has not only prevailed but also progressed further during the course of history of the institution. Prof. Dr. Faiz-ul-Hassan Nasim has got the Pride of Performance Award as a recognition of excellence in teaching and research. The current staff of the Department is a beautiful blend of its founders and the emerging scholars.

The Department is currently offering MSc, MPhil and PhD programs in five specializations viz., Analytical, Biochemistry, Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry, through its morning and evening study programs. The research interests of its faculty members range from synthesis and characterization of heterocycles of potential interest, reaction mechanisms, natural products isolation and characterization, studies on organometallics, catalysis, crystal structures, chemical kinetics, water and plant analysis, nutritional and clinical biochemistry, and biodiversity to gene expression and its regulation. Some of the faculty members are involved in research programs funded by Pakistan Science Foundation. 

So far 35 scholars have received PhD degrees from the Department and 50 are working on various projects leading towards PhD.

Prof. Dr. Muhammad

Prof. Dr. Muhammad Ashraf

Professor (Tenured) / Chairman